Like New York and several other states, New Jersey recently updated its baby car seat laws and Kate Carballo, an attorney and mum explains it in this short 1.25-minute video:
Car seats are meant to be straightforward, involving purchasing and installing it in your car, and changing as your baby grows. The Garden State, however, has a reputation for having the most strenuous car seat laws in the US. It includes strict rules and sheer penalties for those who overlook strapping their kids into the right seats.
The following recommendations concur with the NHTS and American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) for the most secure way to transport your child. They also comply with the New Jersey’s Child Passenger Restraint Law – Title 39:3-76.2a.
New Jersey Front Seat Laws
New Jersey has no specific laws regarding when children aged 8 years and above can shift from the back seat to the front seat. Until the age of 13, the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention clearly states that children should not be allowed to the front seat.
According to New Jersey’s law, children can ride in the front seat or a booster seat if the vehicle they are travelling in does not have a back seat. These vehicles include a sports car or a pick-up truck. If the baby is using a rear-facing car seat strapped to the front seat, you must shut off or disable the car’s passenger-side airbag. Airbag force can cause injuries to a young baby.
New Jersey Car Seat Laws Rear-Facing
According to New Jersey State car seat laws, infants to children below 2 years, with less than 30 lbs. must be in the rear-facing car seat, with a 5-point harness. This means that even tall kids or those with long legs are not an exemption, age is the limit here.
Children below 4 years, and weighing 40 lbs. also belong to this category with the same specifications.
New Jersey Car Seat Laws Forward-Facing
New Jersey State car laws provide that children with a height below 57 inches and aged below 8 years must be secured in the forward-facing car seat equipped with a five-point harness. They must maintain this position until they can proceed to child booster seat laws.
New Jersey Car Seat Laws Booster Seats
New Jersey car seat law states that a child can move to the booster seat when they reach the upper limit of forward-facing. To ensure safety, the booster seat should be secured with a 5-point harness. They should remain here until 8 years or 57 inches tall.
New Jersey Car Seat Laws Recent Changes
New Jersey’s old law required all children less than 8 years and over 80 lbs. to travel in the rear of a car in either a booster seat or a child safety seat. Those aged 18 and above had to wear a standard seat belt. The State now uses a new law titled An Act Concerning Child Passenger Restraint Systems to ensure children safety.
There are also changes in fines, from $10-$25 to $50-$75 under the revised law, if you do not adhere to the set rules on car seats.
Car Seat Replacement after Accident
There are no specific laws addressing this issue in the New Jersey car seat laws. But according to NHTSA, car seats should be replaced after either a severe or moderate car crash. This ensures the ultimate safety of your child during rides and travel. If your car suffers a minor crash, there is no need to automatically replace the car seat.
What does a minor crash mean? The car was driven off from the crash site, the door next to the car seat was not dented, no passenger sustained injuries after the crash, and the car seat shows no damage. Also, it is considered minor if the vehicle’s airbags did not deploy after the crash.
I am Ashley Davis, a mom of three kids and the editor here at 10BabyGear. I have been a parent since 2011 and have been doing full-time consulting as a baby sleep expert since 2019. When I am not researching or testing the next baby gear hitting the market, you’ll find me teaching my toddlers a trick or two – especially over the last few months with the lockdown. I hope you’ll find my guides and reviews helpful as you make your next purchase decision. If you have any questions, you can reach me at email@example.com.